All teacher training applicants are required to pass the Professional Skills Tests to ensure competency in numeracy and literacy before starting a QTS course. Find out how to prepare and take the tests.

Practice makes perfect!

There are online practice materials available to help you prepare for the tests. Use the Department for Education web pages to support you in your preparations.

The tests are managed by Learn Direct. You have three attempts to pass the test-your first attempt is free, but each attempt after this has a fee. The test centres are located nationwide, but they get very busy. We advise you to start preparing as soon as you have applied to your teacher training course.

Free Skills Test Support Workshops

You can also come along to our free Skills Test Support Workshops listed below and give yourself the chance to get ahead with your preparations. Book on a session by clicking on the date of your choice.

If you have any questions about the support workshops you can email skillstests@cumbria.ac.uk or tweet us @uocskillstests

Carlisle, Fusehill Street Campus

Numeracy

DateTime
Wednesday 16 November 2016 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Tuesday 6 December 2016 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday 18 January 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday 15 February 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Thursday 23 March 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday 5 April 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday 24 May 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Tuesday 6 June 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm

Literacy

DateTime
Thursday 3 November 2016 4.30pm - 6.30pm
Thursday 24 November 2016 4.30pm - 6.30pm
Thursday 15 December 2016 4.30pm - 6.30pm
Thursday 26 January 2017 4.30pm - 6.30pm
Thursday 2 March 2017 4.30pm - 6.30pm
Thursday 30 March 2017 4.30pm - 6.30pm
Thursday 27 April 2017 4.30pm - 6.30pm
Thursday 1 June 2017 4.30pm - 6.30pm
Thursday 22 June 2017 4.30pm - 6.30pm
Thursday 13 July 2017 4.30pm - 6.30pm

 

Lancaster Campus

Numeracy

DateTime
Wednesday 16 November 2016 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday 14 December 2016 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday 25 January 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday 8 February 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Monday 6 March 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday 26 April 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday 26 April 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Monday 8 May 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm

Literacy

DateTime
Tuesday 15th November 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Tuesday 13th December 4.00pm - 6.00pm

London Campus

Literacy

DateTime
Wednesday 16th November 4.15pm - 6.15pm
Wednesday 7th December 4.15pm - 6.15pm
Wednesday 18th January 4.15pm - 6.15pm
Wednesday 22nd February 4.15pm - 6.15pm
Wednesday 22nd March 4.15pm - 6.15pm
Wednesday 5th April 4.15pm - 6.15pm
Wednesday 24th May 4.15pm - 6.15pm
Wednesday 14th June 4.15pm - 6.15pm
Wednesday 5th July 4.15pm - 6.15pm

 

Numeracy

DateTime
Wednesday 23rd November 4.15pm – 6.15pm
Wednesday 14th December 4.15pm – 6.15pm
Wednesday 25th January 4.15pm – 6.15pm
Wednesday 15th February 4.15pm – 6.15pm
Wednesday 29th March 4.15pm – 6.15pm
Wednesday 26th April 4.15pm – 6.15pm
Wednesday 31st May 4.15pm – 6.15pm
Wednesday 21st June 4.15pm – 6.15pm
Wednesday 12th July 4.15pm – 6.15pm

Register to take the tests

You need to register online before you can book the tests.

Firstly, please ensure you read the important information here about Access Arrangements and check that you are eligible to sit the tests.

Taking the tests

Make sure you have read all the information carefully about what you need to take with you. Failure to meet the requirements could result in you being unable to take the test.

Allow yourself plenty of time before the test to complete the registration process at the test centre.