All teacher training applicants are required to pass the Professional Skills Tests to ensure competency in numeracy and literacy before starting a QTS course. Find out how to prepare and take the tests.

Practice makes perfect!

There are online practice materials available to help you prepare for the tests. Use the Department for Education web pages to support you in your preparations.

The tests are managed by Learn Direct. You have three attempts to pass the test-your first attempt is free, but each attempt after this has a fee. The test centres are located nationwide, but they get very busy. We advise you to start preparing as soon as you have applied to your teacher training course.

Free Skills Test Support Workshops

You can also come along to our free Skills Test Support Workshops listed below and give yourself the chance to get ahead with your preparations. Book on a session by clicking on the date of your choice.

If you have any questions about the support workshops you can email skillstests@cumbria.ac.uk or tweet us @uocskillstests

Carlisle, Fusehill Street Campus

Numeracy

DateTime
Thursday 23 March 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday 5 April 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday 24 May 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Tuesday 6 June 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm

Literacy

DateTime
Thursday 30 March 2017 4.30pm - 6.30pm
Thursday 27 April 2017 4.30pm - 6.30pm
Thursday 1 June 2017 4.30pm - 6.30pm
Thursday 22 June 2017 4.30pm - 6.30pm
Thursday 13 July 2017 4.30pm - 6.30pm

 

Lancaster Campus

Numeracy

DateTime
Monday 6 March 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday 26 April 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday 26 April 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Monday 8 May 2017 4.00pm - 6.00pm

Literacy

DateTime
Tuesday 14th March 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Tuesday 18th April 4.00pm - 6.00pm
Thursday 11th May 4.00pm - 6.00pm


London Campus

Literacy

DateTime
Wednesday 22nd March 4.15pm - 6.15pm
Wednesday 5th April 4.15pm - 6.15pm
Wednesday 24th May 4.15pm - 6.15pm
Wednesday 14th June 4.15pm - 6.15pm
Wednesday 5th July 4.15pm - 6.15pm

 

Numeracy

DateTime
Wednesday 29th March 4.15pm – 6.15pm
Wednesday 26th April 4.15pm – 6.15pm
Wednesday 31st May 4.15pm – 6.15pm
Wednesday 21st June 4.15pm – 6.15pm
Wednesday 12th July 4.15pm – 6.15pm

The workshops are led by our highly qualified lecturers on our campuses at Carlisle, Lancaster and London. They aim to support you in your preparations for the prfoessional skills tests by covering aspects of the tests and developing your confidence to tackle the test questions.

PLEASE NOTE: To attend the workshops you must have applied/or be interested in applying to a teacher training course at the University of Cumbria. You may be asked to provide proof of your application as part of registration/arrival e.g. open day email, application acknowledgement, email from admissions etc.

Register to take the tests

You need to register online before you can book the tests.

Firstly, please ensure you read the important information here about Access Arrangements and check that you are eligible to sit the tests.

Taking the tests

Make sure you have read all the information carefully about what you need to take with you. Failure to meet the requirements could result in you being unable to take the test.

Allow yourself plenty of time before the test to complete the registration process at the test centre.