Honorary fellowships were conferred onto the following people in the November graduation ceremonies of 2007.

Mr Edwin Booth DL

In recognition of contribution to business in the North West and for his outstanding commitment to supporting local and regional suppliers in the food industry.

Right Reverend Alan Chesters CBE

In recognition of outstanding achievements in the field of education.

Mr Ian Cumming

In recognition of outstanding service to the community in the provision of health care in the North West and Cumbria.

The Right Honourable the Baroness Estelle Morris of Yardley

In recognition of outstanding contribution to education in the United Kingdom.

Dr Don Waddell OBE

In recognition of his sustained and outstanding contribution for over four decades to the creation and development of the former art college.

Deceased December 2011

Professor David Vaughan

In recognition of his contribution to Art and Design education and higher education nationally and for major contributions to higher education and Arts education in the North-West and in Cumbria in particular. (awarded November 2007)

David was Principal and Chief Executive of Cumbria Institute of the Arts (CIA) from September 1991 until retirement in August 2007, when the University of Cumbria was created. Born in London he studied at the Central School of Art and Design (now University of the Arts London) and at Bath Academy of Art (now Bath Spa University). He previously held teaching and senior management roles in the creative arts at universities in Lancaster, Liverpool, Brighton and Sheffield and at the CNAA (Council for National Academic Awards) as Associate Registrar. He also undertook reviews of Universities and HEIs with the Quality Assurance Agency (QAA).

He was the first chair of the management board of Higher Education Academy – Art Design Media Subject Centre from 1999 to 2007. He established GLAD (the Group for Learning in Art and Design) as a UK wide HE learning and teaching forum in 1989, being chair from 1990 to 2007 (celebrating its 25th Anniversary Conference in 2015).  He chaired the Higher Education Art and Design Trust from 1996 to 2005 and now leads the HEAD Trust Project to support greater advocacy of the Art, Design and Creative Media – schools to HE subject sector as a Trustee. He has been chair of governors of Shankhill C of E School – since 2005 and is an Independent Governor of Richard Rose Central Academy in Carlisle with a focus on Teaching and Learning and the Creative Arts.

Professor Mick Waters

In recognition of his particular and increasingly influential contributions to the development of education nationally.

Edit Page
Chat to a student on The Access Platform