University of Cumbria celebrates staff excellence.

University of Cumbria celebrates staff excellence. name

The University of Cumbria will host its annual Excellence Awards on Tuesday 21 June, which recognise and celebrate the outstanding work of individuals and teams who make a positive contribution to the success of the university.

This can range from high quality learning and research to innovation and enterprise activity. The awards help the university to showcase their talent giving the opportunity to inspire stakeholders, partners and wider community and encourage them to take part in collaborative activity.

Recommendations for the awards are made by staff who are given the option to either self-nominate or nominate another team or individual who they feel should be rewarded for their excellence and achievement.

There are four award categories to choose from, which are open to all staff employed or contracted to the university:

  1. Outstanding Service
  2. Teaching and Support of Learning
  3. Research
  4. Innovation and Enterprise

This year’s winners are:

Outstanding Service:

Facilities Management Services core team: Mark Atkinson, John Powell, Jan Carruthers, Kirsty Mills (Lancaster & Carlisle)
In recognition of the teams work in the emergency response to "Storm Desmond" which hit the UK in December 2015, causing significant disruption to all university north west campuses.

Library and Student Services, Academic Services and Retention Management Team: Nadine Sunderland, James Stephens, Sandie Donnelly (Lancaster)
In recognition for the valuable contribution this team makes to the university through their support for increasingly diverse students.

Innovation & Enterprise

Vicki Goodwin & Dr Tom Grimwood (Lancaster & Carlisle)
In recognition of the work of Health and Social Care Evaluations (HASCE) which is making a considerable contribution to the university through securing commercial projects, income generation and external stakeholder engagement.

Richard Milburn (Carlisle)
In recognition of Richard’s work leading developments in marketing and recruitment of academic programmes within the deanery.

Teaching & Support of Learning

Paramedic Team: Stewart Ralph, Tom Davidson, Sarah Green, Sharon Seddon (Lancaster)
In recognition for the work of this team which has enabled the university to provide programmes to a diverse range of UK military services including the Army, RAF and Navy. The team has developed bespoke programmes which have been formally recognised by the Health Care Professions Council. These programmes are enabling military staff, even those deployed overseas, to study with the university.

Kathryn Hoyle (Lancaster)
In recognition of Kathryn’s dedication and commitment to her students, subject area, colleagues and the wider academic community. Kathryn has led a number of key projects across the university including the corporate health team which was set up to enable students to work alongside the university’s HR department on the wellbeing agenda.

Research Excellence

Kaz Stuart (Lancaster)
In recognition of Kaz’s work in pioneering 'fit for purpose' evaluation tools for the youth work sector which is having both a national and international reach. As an active member of the ‘Youth Work Evidence Group’ and ‘Centre for Youth Impact’, Kaz is raising the profile of youth work, demonstrating real excellence in research.

Early Career Researcher

Tracy Hayes (Carlisle)
In recognition of Tracy’s commitment to research and her contribution to the university’s research community. Tracy’s track record in publishing at this stage in her career and the role she is playing in supporting postgraduate researcher development within the university is commendable and demonstrates excellence in early career research.

Additionally, the university thanks and acknowledges all of its staff who contributed and worked tirelessly to help colleagues, students and residents affected by the devastating floods in Cumbria and Lancashire in December 2015.

Professor Peter Strike said: “The university’s Excellence Awards recognise the outstanding work of our staff and celebrate their successes and achievements. I would like to congratulate this year’s award winners and nominees for their exceptional efforts and to thank all of our staff for their skills, commitment and hard work which contributes so much to the continuous development of our university as a centre of academic, professional and educational excellence.”

The ceremony will also see the university honour eight of its long serving and dedicated staff members in appreciation of their commitment which is reflected through their long service.